Just like you

Disappointment? Anger?

What is this feeling

Where I’m so upset

Yet my face, so blank

Took me two hours

To make the cake

Wash the dishes

Leave no stain

Because it’s her birthday

I thought I’d surprise her

Yet when I gave her a piece to taste

What I got asked first is

How many eggs did you use

Because eggs are more pricey

Than the toil for this cake

Thought we could cut it together

But your words were harsh and bitter

I cut it myself and ate it too

It wasn’t too sweet, just like you. 

Leave a Reply

