Sunset

Have you ever watched the sun set? That entire one minute where you see it in all its glory in the sky, you see the birds flying, all going home, while the sun just dives slowly back into the sky, eventually leaving no trace of it.

As I saw the sun slowly going back into the sky, it just felt so peaceful. I went with my phone , to capture it but then I realised, that this moment, I want it to be mine and only mine.I saw cars and bikes zooming by, people crossing the road, everyone in their own world, too busy to look at the sky. Too busy to admire the beauty of nature and appreciate it.

I remember, one evening when I was getting back home after meeting a friend of mine. The moon was shining right above us, it was a crescent that day, with the north star right by its side. I said Oh look! And all he said was, isn’t it the same everyday? That day I realised, people don’t appreciate nature enough.

After the sun set for the day, and the birds got home, my attention shifted to the construction workers, each one of them working in peace and lifting planks of wood from the truck and placing them down. I noticed how hard they worked to earn their daily wages, and realised I hadn’t touched my books all day long. I still haven’t figured out what I want to major in, and my exams are nearing, while all I’m doing is wasting my time.

It’s been the first time in a long time that I’ve reflected on so many things all at once. And it’s been a while since I’ve felt this calm and peaceful.

2 thoughts on “Sunset

  1. I enjoyed this piece of writing, and I agree with you that many don’t appreciate nature and its value, however we as humans learn a lot from nature– nature truly magnifies it creator. Jw.org speaks more on this subject. Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

